DietDiaries #5 Breaking the Habit

So the first thing I saw when I opened the fridge this morning was these:

PhotoGrid_1445870590114

And as much as I wanted to grab one of these delectable sugary treats, I reasoned that the weekend had been a complete disaster, and the best that I could do for myself was to start of Monday with healthier options.

PhotoGrid_1445871753417

I absolutely love tomatoes as they are low in calories, sweet and easy to eat when you are in a rush or on the go. I put several of them in a container along with a bottle of water and another bottle of milk tea( my one exception – it has milk and calcium and well…it’s helping me to cope without coffee)

Just as I was about to leave the house, all those treats started to call out to me, and I caved and reached for one of the chocolates which vaguely seemed to have a name that looked a lot like ‘yougurt’. However the minute I turned it over to check out the calories…

PhotoGrid_1445870535946

So I put it back in the fridge where it belongs and left for work~

It’s been a while since I’ve done a look-book so I decided to do a mini one just for today:

PhotoGrid_1445870480786

It was such a delight to dress in soft blue tones, and although I do have a lovely pair of jean wedges, I went for black ballet flats today as I don’t want to be stumbling around off-balance in the train on the way to work.

Work went by in a flurry of clients, tomatoes and records, and finally I ended my shift and took myself home, yawning most of the way as I’ve been feeling quite tired. The lack of food probably had something to do with it.

When I got home I immediately went through the fridge to see if there was anything available to cook up a reasonably healthy lunch. Thankfully there was, and after a thirty minutes I served up a delicious egg salad sandwiches with a glass of cool celery and green apple juice for myself and my baby sister, who was home at the time.

PhotoGrid_1445869986429 PhotoGrid_1445870428717

Which immediately changed the whole tone of the day, and I’ve been feeling really good about myself and my progress for today.

Which has me thinking, I may want to try to ย make some healthy baked goods such as oatmeal cookies or little raisin buns in order to have an alternative to nuts and fruit, which sometimes gets very boring. If anyone has any suggestions for easy-to-make healthy snacks, please let me know~! I need to get inspiration.

On that note I really hope I can continue to stick to this path now. The habit of simply “over-looking” and “justifying” what I put into my mouth is so misleading, and I’m glad I started this blog because it helps me to examine some of the things that I take for granted and over-looking, instead of addressing and finding positive improvements to the situation.

And since I can’t keep stuffing chocolate into my mouth, I can at least look at this cutie doing it instead~! XD

Leave a Reply

