Nomadic Dreams: Port Dickson ( Day 1 )

Port Dickson was but a dream before I visited its burning white sandy shores and stayed at the Avillion, a water chalet getaway straight out of a fantasy novel. Anita Desai once said “Wherever you go becomes a part of you somehow” and being a selkie in spirit, the lapping waves and endless horizon was food for my soul.

My best friend Bad and I love scouring the net for good discounts, so when she found a 3day 2Night package for under 400SGD for two, she called me almost immediately.
“Do you wanna get away for a couple of days?”

“Like hell I do! Where do I sign up?” I had replied even though I hadn’t yet checked my bank account balance. The package included a coach ride there and back again from Singapore, so that meant transport was covered as well as the stay! SGD200 was money well spent!

The coach ride has, however, not as pleasant an experience as I would have hoped it would be. For starters, they put me and Bad in seperate seats, so for the whole 8 hours I had no one to talk to but the stack of books I brought, which proved to be great sources of entertainment, but I still would have rather been sitting next to my bff.

By the time we ginally arrived I was just so happy to get off the bus and stretch my legs, and hopefully stretch my back too on a nice soft bed.

And a nice soft bed was indeed waiting for me!
image

The room boasted a four-post bed of happiness and I found myself rolling across it more than once.

image

This is not a sponsored post for the hotel, so if you’d like to check out more about the hotel room itself you can do so at their website. What I fell in love with was outside and around the hotel room itself, and a lot of it was just enjoying the tranquillity and beauty of the getaway experience.

Once we had unpacked and settled in, we walked around for a while the day was already coming to a close and Bad and I felt more enclined to just wander rather than trouble ourselves to sign up for any activities or find something specific to do.

Right outside our little area of sanctuary was this Orchid Hut.

image

image

image

image

image

The only thing that would make this place better would be if they provided little watering cans to water things. Everything was so beautiful and greenery was so easy on the eyes, I felt so at home and at peace.

As we walked a little further, a peahen joined us out of nowhere, and disappeared just as fast.
image

And there was a thought-provoking quote at every turn, making me wonder whether they secretly knew how much I needed to read lovely quotes on graphite, and they set these up just before I came, like a dream within a dream.
image

Even the flora seemed to dance and sing and beckon warmly in the wind.
image
image
image
image

We wandered around, finding ourselves becoming as tranquill as the swaying leaves and the towering trees, and eventually sat down to gaze out to sea for a while before we went off to find what sort of nourishment the avillion provided.

image

There is no way to stop the epic descent into this level of indulgence. All I can advise is to have a clean pair of slippers and an open heart and mind.

Leave a Reply

